I’ve been posting here much less frequently than I’d like to lately, and you deserve an explanation. Yes, you. Let this serve as both an explanation for my intermittent absence, and a sincere apology and promise to do better by you, Internet Audience. There are so many wonderful things I’ve been meaning to tell you about, like the miracle elephant baby in Australia, elephant twins in Thailand, and a reminder of 85 reasons to be thankful for librarians (ahem).

For what it’s worth, I have several good excuses for my absence. First, this was given to me by my darling boyfriend, along with a proposal.

He proposed, not unreasonably, that we get married and move to Chicago together, since he’s been offered a very good postdoctoral position at Northwestern University. I’d be crazy to turn down an offer like that (and while I may be crazy, I’m not that crazy), so I’ve been terribly busy planning a big party, looking for a job in Chicago, and trying to locate a home for us in the Chicago area.

I’m still busy with those activities, but nonetheless, I promise to do better by you, Internet Audience. Now, I’m off to busy myself with making good on that promise. In the meantime, if you know of any jobs in the Chicago area, please contact me for my resume.

<3,
k

