I’m going to officially retire this blog, rather than let it languish, neglected, as I move on to other ventures. My last day at the San Diego Zoo will be July 9. From there, I’ll be focusing on packing and moving to Chicago, then starting a new job at the University of Chicago (but not as a librarian, for the time being).

I’ve still been reading and keeping up with zoology and ecology, but nothing has inspired me to post in the last month or so. It seems as though nearly all of what I’ve been reading has to do with the Deepwater Horizon spill and the ensuing ecological disaster, and I just can’t bring myself to comment on this. It’s too horrible for words, and I find myself feeling so fatalistic that it almost seems better to just distance myself from it.

I’m going to spend my free time doing the small things that can to help contribute to reducing our reliance on fossil fuels. Maybe at some point I’ll start a blog documenting my adventures on public transportation, or experiments in gardening and home-canning local, sustainable produce. Instead of having our beer shipped in, we’ve been making our own.

Wish me luck!

