Carrie Donovan, a librarian at Indiana University Bloomington, has put together an adorable video for her library patrons, detailing all of the ways the library can help them [via Library Juice]. While our library doesn’t have iPod and DVR rentals, my philosophy as a librarian is essentially the same. Do you need something at the library? Ask! I am paid to help you find what you’re looking for (if you work for the Zoo), so please, if you can’t find it… ask! You can ask me in person, you can email, or you can call. As Carrie says, “I went to college for this.”

This sort of desperate mantra is , I believe, a hallmark of librarians everywhere. We want so much to help our patrons, but I think most patrons feel like they should already know how to find _____ themselves, and asking a librarian is admitting defeat. I know I felt that way as a child and as a student, before I stumbled into this career path. If you’re reading this, you probably already know that’s a fallacy, but it never hurts to remind people. Watch Carrie’s video. It’s cute.

