If you were planning to head out to the beaches this sunny July weekend, you might want to reconsider. The Telegraph reports that Humboldt squid, also known as jumbo flying squid, have uncharacteristically invaded the waters off of San Diego.

Mike Bear, a local diver, said: “I wouldn’t go into the water with them for the same reason I wouldn’t walk into a pride of lions on the Serengeti, For all I know, I’m missing the experience of a lifetime.”
Shanda Magill was surprised by a large squid which hit her from behind and grabbed at her with its arms, pulling her sideways in the water. It ripped her buoyancy hose away from her chest and knocked away her light.
“I just kicked like crazy. The first thing you think of is, ‘Oh my gosh, I don’t know if I’m going to survive this’. If that squid wanted to hurt me, it would have,” she said.

Humboldt squid can grow up to 6 feet long and weigh near 100 pounds. They’re known to be aggressive and travel in large groups of hundreds or thousands at a time. The cephalopods are known as diablos rojos (“red devils”) to the Mexican fisherman who catch them. They’re carnivorous, using sharp, barbed suckers on their tentacles to “pierce the flesh of prey and drag it to their mouths where a fierce, baseball-sized beak tears it to shreds.”

